LibGuides: COM 101: Art Research Resources

Databases

Databases contain scholarly journals & magazines, eBooks, and more
If you need help navigating the databases, contact the librarian at librarian@aaart.edu or stop by the library!
If you are off-campus, you will need the Login/Password. Email librarian@aaart.edu

We have many different databases that you can search within to find articles. You can narrow down which databases to search in by selecting the specific group related to the subject area of your research topic. If you are uncertain about what subject area your topic falls under, you can use the "Search all databases" search box in the top right. You can also consult with your instructor or the librarian for help!

General Databases

ProQuest Central
- The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
Gale Academic Onefile
- Gale Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Credo Reference
- Partnering with many of the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference combines publishing expertise with the latest digital technologies to unlock the knowledge value of reference material. There are over 270 titles consisting of an aggregate of 3.1 million entries all interconnected by over 100,000,000 links.

Art-Specific Databases

Arts & Humanities Full Text
- Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Research Library: The Arts
- This resource covers publications on the arts for researchers of all levels.
Fine Arts and Music Collection
- Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Web Gallery of Art
- The Web Gallery of Art is a free, searchable database of European fine arts and architecture (3rd-19th centuries). Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue services are provided.

General Art Information Resources

Resources from around the web for learning more about artists and art history:

Art by Period
Links to art-related websites from prehistoric to contemporary.
ArtCyclopedia
Art History: Resources on the Web
An index of art history links organized by period and region.
Art Movements Directory
"A concise reference guide to the major art movements and periods." Includes brief biographical information about representative artists from each movement.
Artnet's Artist List
Site to buy, sell and research fine art. Contains index of over 340,000 artists.
AskART
Database listing over 52,000 American artists from the early 16th-century through the present. Includes extensive biographical information about American artists as well as book and periodical references, auction records and images.
National Gallery's Artist List
Washington DC's National Gallery's artist list.
SmartHistory
A multimedia, online art history textbook, written by art history professors, that combines articles, podcasts, and images.
Timeline of Art History
A “chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world,” from 20,000 BC to the present day. Includes images, maps, key events, and thematic essays.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a searchable database of European fine arts and architecture (3rd-19th centuries), currently containing over 49.500 reproductions. Includes artist biographies.

Google Search Tips

Having trouble finding relevant results on Google? Try these search tips:

OPERATOR	DESCRIPTION	EXAMPLE
" "	Search for an exact match When you use quotation marks, you are telling Google to search the words between the quotation marks exactly how they appear Search Tip: Finding too much information when you type an artist into Google? Using quotation marks around the artist’s name can help narrow the number of results, as can adding keywords outside the quotation marks.	"Romantic symbolism" "to be or not to be" “Claude Monet” “Claude Monet” watercolor “Claude Monet” artist
site:	Narrow search results to a specific type of website Use the operator site: in your search to narrow your search to a specific type of websites such as .org, .gov, .edu, etc.	claude monet site:.edu
-	Exclude certain words from your search results Put - in front of a word you want to leave out	football -soccer