Copyright and Fair Use are complicated issues for artists. There are many gray areas surrounding how artists use reference material, work made for hire, selling your work, and contracts. This guide is made to help educate you on how to protect yourself and your work. There are online resources, print books, and associations available.
Please feel free to contact the librarian at any time if you have questions
Need help conducting research, finding a book, or writing? Contact the library!
Email: Librarian@aaart.edu
Phone: 312-697-3149
or stop by!
Library Hours
Monday - Thursday
7:45 am - 5 pm
Located in the Irving Shapiro Library, the WRC is available to help students with their grammar, spelling, citations, and more.
This page provides helpful information about our databases, research, and citation. If you need help with doing research, contact the librarian.
Copyright Compliance
You are responsible for any digital copyright violations associated with your computer and network access if you give others permission to use them.
Copyright pamphlets available at the library desk.
Art Law Conversations by 
Legal Guide for the Visual Artist by
This classic guide for artists is completely revised and updated to provide an in-depth view of the legal issues facing the visual artist today and provides practical legal guidance for any visual artist involved with creative work. Among the many new topics covered in this comprehensive guide are: detailed coverage of the myriad developments in copyright (including online copyright registration procedures and use of art on the Internet); changes in laws protecting artists in artist-gallery relationships are explained in depth; scope of First Amendment protections for graffiti art and the sale of art in public spaces; detailed as well as new cases dealing with art and privacy; and a model contract for Web site design and much more. The book also covers copyrights, moral rights, contracts, licensing, sales, special risks and protections for art and artists, book publishing, video and multimedia works, leases, taxation, estate planning, museums, collecting, grants, and how to find the best professional advisers and attorneys. In addition, the book suggests basic strategies for negotiation, gives information to help with further action, contains many sample legal forms and contracts, and shows how to locate artists' groups and Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts organizations.
Business and Legal Forms for Illustrators by
The fourth edition of this popular guide contains twenty-nine of the most essential business and legal forms to meet the everyday needs of today's illustrators. Updated throughout, new forms include a promissory note, releases, and an agreement to arbitrate. Each form is accompanied by step-by-step instructions, advice on standard contractual provisions, and unique negotiation checklists for making the best deal. Included are: Estimate * Confirmation of Assignment * Invoice * Illustrator-Agent Contract * Book Publishing Contract * Collaboration Contract * Contract for the Sale of an Artwork * Contract for Receipt and Holding of Artwork * Illustrator-Gallery Contract with Record of Consignment and Statement of Account * Licensing Contract to Merchandise Images * Release Form for Models * Property Release * Permission Form * Nondisclosure Agreement for Submitting Ideas * Copyright Transfer Form * Application for Copyright Registration of Artwork * License of Rights and Electronic Rights * Contract with an Independent Contractor * Trademark Application * Commercial Lease * Sublease * Lease Assignment The collection provides a password and link to a supplemental website, which contains all the discussed forms for both the PC and Mac platforms. Thorough discussions of legal issues relevant to the industry make this a must-read for any illustrator--established or starting out. Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
Graphic Artist's Guild Handbook of Pricing and Ethical Guidelines by
Graphic Artists Guild Handbook: Pricing & Ethical Guidelines, 14th Edition is an indispensable resource for people who create graphic art and those who buy it. As the graphic art marketplace continues to evolve to meet the needs of both digital and print media and as clients struggle with shrinking budgets in the current economy, the need for up-to-date information on business, ethical, and legal issues is greater than ever. Find it all here in the 14th Edition.
Copyright and Digital Ethics by
The Internet brought about a total revolution in the world of information. Today, anyone with an Internet connection can access a wealth of information online. As our access to data increases, copyright laws struggle to keep up. This book examines how copyright law has been applied to online content, the emerging open source movement, fair use, proper citation practice, and the ethics of using and citing online information. It is an invaluable resource for todays students.